« Altenative Credit Scores Provide Hope for Many Consumers | Main | Whether to Start a Re-Fi or Not »

February 11, 2009

Special Loans Services: Scam Alert

Another new loan scam name has appeared on the horizon today. Here's the report we received late last night:

My parents were a victim of this business.  They go by Special Loans Services  www.specialloansservices.com.  Everything looked so legitimate that my parents sent in the $1,000 they asked for and now are out the money.  Is there anything they can do, or place they can report these criminals to? They promised a $10,000 loan with a $1,000 collateral payment.

The scam website is currently up and running at SpecialLoanServices.com. Take a peek, but remember that these are bad guys. Here are more details:

Fake lender name: SpecialLoanServices
Fake lender website: www.specialloanservices.com. If you do a whois.net search for this URL, you'll see it was registered to a Candian address on January 19th. Big red flag.
Fake lender address: 30 N Michigan Ave Ste 980 - Chicago, IL 60602
Fake loan amount: $10,000
Requested payment: $1,000 collateral payment for a $10,000 "loan"

There's no way to get the lost money back after you've wire transferred it to a loan scammer. But you can - and should - report the crime to your local police department, the FTC, the FBI, the Canadian RECOL agency and your state attorney general.

If you think you might be working with a scam lender, email us the details BEFORE you send any money. We'll be glad to help you identify if the loan offer is legitimate.

Emily PetersCredit.com's personal finance expert and former TransUnion credit bureau insider. Emily writes about credit reports, credit cards, loans and personal finance as the CreditBloggers.com editor.

TrackBack

TrackBack URL for this entry:
http://www.typepad.com/services/trackback/6a00d83451724269e2010537207975970b

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference Special Loans Services: Scam Alert:

Comments

I often see posting of this nature on Craigslist. Just FYI.

Brian

Does anyone know about a company called Loan Union Financial? They said the web address is www.loanunion.net. They claimed to be associated with intel insurance company and need money for the insurance company to secure a personal loan.

Verify your Comment

Previewing your Comment

This is only a preview. Your comment has not yet been posted.

Working...
Your comment could not be posted. Error type:
Your comment has been posted. Post another comment

The letters and numbers you entered did not match the image. Please try again.

As a final step before posting your comment, enter the letters and numbers you see in the image below. This prevents automated programs from posting comments.

Having trouble reading this image? View an alternate.

Working...

Post a comment



Become a Fan on Facebook


Follow Creditbloggers on Twitter
Subscribe to CreditBloggers


About CreditBloggers

Bringing together leading experts to discuss credit, loan, debt and identity theft topics, CreditBloggers provides readers with unique insight and straight answers about the financial world.

Click here to read more about the team of financial gurus who contribute to CreditBloggers.com